DDC Election: Chairperson, Vice Chairperson elected at B’gam, Kup

Srinagar, Feb 08: The chairperson and the vice chairperson of the District Development Council (DDC) Budgam and Kupwar were elected Monday in a meeting of the elected DDC members convened under the chairmanship of the respective District Election Officers (District Development Commissioners).

Meanwhile, the respective DPEOs congratulated the DDC Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and welcomed them as important functionaries in the plan formulation and socio-economic development of the district.

At Budgam: There was a tie between Nazir Ahmad Khan and Abdul Ahad Dar, both contesting for Chairman of DDC Budgam with each securing 7 votes. A draw of lots was held in which Nazir Ahmad Khan was declared as successful, thus elected as Chairman DDC Budgam.

Meanwhile, for the election of Vice chairman DDC Budgam, among the two contestants, Nazir Ahmad Jahara was declared as successful by securing 09 votes against Nisar Ahmad Sheikh who got only five 05 votes.

The DPEO said the whole process of the election to the chairperson and vice chairperson positions of the DDC Budgam was smooth adding that the elections were held in a free and fair manner.

Later, DPEO administered the oath to both the Chairperson and Vice- Chairperson.

At Kupwara: Irfan Sultan Panditpori was elected as Chairperson and Haji Farooq Mir was elected as Vice-Chairperson of DDC Kupwara during an election held in the presence of District Election Officer (DC Kupwara), Imam Din.

Out of 13 DDC members in the district, 09 DDC members made their presence in the scheduled election, which fulfilled the quorum limit of 2/3rd majority.

On the occasion, People’s Conference candidate, Irfan Sultan Panditpori and Independent candidate, Haji Farooq Mir submitted their nomination forms for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson respectively and were declared winners unopposed.

Later, the District Election Officer Kupwara, administered oath to the newly elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson.